

Joint Statement on January 6, 2021 Attack on the Capitol

On Wednesday, January 6th, armed insurrectionists stormed the halls of our nation's Capitol to violently disrupt our democratic process and the peaceful transition of power. For the first time in American history, the Confederate flag – a symbol of our nation's darkest chapter and most shameful atrocities – flew within the Capitol. For the first time in American history, the sitting president incited a mob to defy the results of a fair and free election in an attempted coup.

As Americans, we are deeply angered by this unprecedented assault on our Republic. And as elected chief prosecutors, we say **enough**. We call upon President Trump and all other elected leaders to denounce these attacks and those who participated in them in no uncertain terms, to cease perpetuating mistruths that are fanning distrust and division in our nation, and to accept the results of the 2020 election.

For the last four years, our duty to protect our communities and uphold the legitimacy of our office has been made increasingly more difficult in the face of attacks on the rule of law and our democratic institutions from the highest leaders in the country. President Trump and his supporters have repeatedly incited violence and perpetuated conspiracy theories with devastating consequences. Public trust is at the heart of public safety, yet trust in government and our legal system has plummeted in the last four years. Words matter. And false narratives of a stolen election and efforts to disenfranchise countless Americans by ignoring their votes are attacks on our democracy and law and order, threatening the very wellbeing of our country.

The tragic events of January 6th make clear: no leader who incites violence and undermines faith in our democracy and our election process deserves to lead. And these brazen acts in defiance of American law and values cannot go without consequences. Five more lives have been lost and many have been injured and further traumatized at a time of already deep suffering in this nation. We demand accountability.

We are committed to preserving First Amendment rights, but as law enforcement leaders, we know that those rights do not include fomenting violence, interfering with fair elections, or rioting and looting in the halls of the heart of government. We must hold accountable all those who were responsible for Wednesday's events, including anyone who incited and participated in the violence and all who failed to be prepared and appropriately respond to it.

As leaders committed to equal justice for all, we also feel compelled to call out the profound inequity on display on Wednesday. During overwhelmingly peaceful protests for racial equity this past year, law enforcement across the United States all too often responded with violence, aggressive and militarized use of force, and mass arrests. Yet when predominantly white armed insurgents attacked our nation's halls of governance on January 6th, looting and destroying federal property, many in law enforcement appeared to stand aside. This profound and racist double standard makes clear the depth of inequity in our nation's policing practices, the need for

broader systemic transformation, and the necessity of a thorough inquiry into Wednesday's law enforcement response.

These ongoing failures of federal leadership of the highest order also make clear the need for change under the incoming administration. Among <u>many reforms</u>, we call for a <u>truly independent Department of Justice</u> to restore the integrity of that body and our federal government. Our leaders must be above lying, deception, and inciting violence – and they must be held to account when those lines are crossed. These events make clear that our future as a nation is at stake.

List of Signatories

Amy Ashworth

Commonwealth's Attorney, Prince William County, Virginia

Jean Peters Baker

Prosecuting Attorney, Jackson County, Missouri

Diana Becton

District Attorney, Contra Costa County, California

Wesley Bell

Prosecuting Attorney, St. Louis County, Missouri

Buta Biberaj

Commonwealth's Attorney, Loudoun County, Virginia

Sherry Boston

District Attorney, DeKalb County, Georgia

Chesa Boudin

District Attorney, City and County of San Francisco, California

Aisha Braveboy

State's Attorney, Prince George's County, Maryland

John Choi

County Attorney, Ramsey County, Minnesota

Darcel Clark

District Attorney, Bronx County, New York

Dave Clegg

District Attorney, Ulster County, New York

Scott Colom

District Attorney, 16th Judicial District, Mississippi

John Creuzot

District Attorney, Dallas County, Texas

Satana Deberry

District Attorney, Durham County, North Carolina

Steve Descano

Commonwealth's Attorney, Fairfax County, Virginia

Thomas J. Donovan, Jr.

Attorney General, Vermont

Mark Dupree

District Attorney, Wyandotte County, Kansas

Matthew Ellis

District Attorney, Wasco County, Oregon

Keith Ellison

Attorney General, Minnesota

Aaron Ford

Attorney General, Nevada

Kimberly M. Foxx

State's Attorney, Cook County, Illinois

Mike Freeman

County Attorney, Hennepin County, Minnesota

Kimberly Gardner

Circuit Attorney, City of St. Louis, Missouri

José Garza

District Attorney, Travis County, Texas

George Gascón

District Attorney, Los Angeles County, California

Sarah F. George

State's Attorney, Chittenden County, Vermont

Sim Gill

District Attorney, Salt Lake County, Utah

Joe Gonzales

District Attorney, Bexar County, Texas

Deborah Gonzalez

District Attorney, Western Judicial Circuit, Georgia

Eric Gonzalez

District Attorney, Kings County, New York

Mark Gonzalez

District Attorney, Nueces County, Texas

Andrea Harrington

District Attorney, Berkshire County, Massachusetts

Jim Hingeley

Commonwealth's Attorney, Albemarle County, Virginia

Natasha Irving

District Attorney, Sixth Prosecutorial District, Maine

Michael Jackson

District Attorney, Dallas County, Alabama

Melinda Katz

District Attorney, Queens County, New York

Justin F. Kollar

Prosecuting Attorney, Kauai County, Hawaii

Lawrence S. Krasner

District Attorney, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Beth McCann

District Attorney, Second Judicial District, Colorado

Ryan Mears

Prosecuting Attorney, Marion County, Indiana

Brian Middleton

District Attorney, Fort Bend County, Texas

Stephanie Morales

Commonwealth's Attorney, Portsmouth, Virginia

Michael W. Morrissey

District Attorney, Norfolk County, Massachusetts

Marilyn J. Mosby

State's Attorney, Baltimore City, Maryland

Jody Owens

District Attorney, Hinds County, Mississippi

Alonzo Payne

District Attorney-Elect, Twelfth Judicial District, Colorado

Bryan Porter

Commonwealth's Attorney, City of Alexandria, Virginia

Karl A. Racine

Attorney General, District of Columbia

Mimi Rocah

District Attorney, Westchester County, New York

Rachael Rollins

District Attorney, Suffolk County, Massachusetts

Jeff Rosen

District Attorney, Santa Clara County, California

Ellen Rosenblum

Attorney General, Oregon

Marian T. Ryan

District Attorney, Middlesex County, Massachusetts

Dan Satterberg

Prosecuting Attorney, King County, Washington

Eli Savit

Prosecuting Attorney, Washtenaw County, Michigan

Mike Schmidt

District Attorney, Multnomah County, Oregon

Carol A. Siemon

Prosecuting Attorney, Ingham County, Michigan

David Soares

District Attorney, Albany County, New York

David E. Sullivan

District Attorney, Northwestern District, Massachusetts

Shannon Taylor

Commonwealth's Attorney, Henrico County, Virginia

Raúl Torrez

District Attorney, Bernalillo County, New Mexico

Matthew Van Houten

District Attorney, Tompkins County, New York

Cyrus R. Vance

District Attorney, New York County, New York

Lynneice Washington

District Attorney, Jefferson County, Bessemer District, Alabama

Todd Williams

District Attorney, Buncombe County, North Carolina